VFX Shoot

For Gary’s project we needed to shoot some original footage and add special effects to it. For my project i want to be standing on a perch and looking up at a space ship flying by, depending on how much time I have left I will make it so you are looking through a portal I may also add some post apocalyptic props to it. I have been doing some research on how to make matte paintings look more realistic by defining your light source and using solids to add light to the objects in your scene and adding shading to them too.rule of thirds.jpg

When it came to shooting my footage I booked a camera and a tripod from the camera department. I then went to the car park and set up the tripod so it would make the camera level to get a better quality footage. I then connected the camera and positioned it abiding to the rule of thirds. The rule of thirds is applied by aligning a subject with the guide lines and their intersection points, placing the horizon on the top or bottom line, or allowing linear features in the image to flow from section to section. I had positioned me (The actor) in the bottom left of the grid where the bottom left red cross is. This meant I was not in the center but was still the focus of the footage.

 

Leave a Reply

